Jun 16 2009
Spamtastic!
This weekend saw a sudden surge of spam comments coming my way. Strangely though, the comments seem legit. No links to various websites, not random text – nothing. Just a few sentances that are so generic they seem relevant.
I let the first couple through – It wasn’t until I noticed i had comments from several different ‘people’ all from the same IP that I started to question it. Further investigation reveals a peculiar email address and that every ‘person’ has google as their website address.
Apparently this was a massive spam attack
So, for those with blogs beware. Comments along these lines should marked as spam:
KattyBlackyard
google.com
katty@ds4ns1ns2.cn
89.28.14.35
Submitted on 2009/06/15 at 11:09amI really like your post. Does it copyright protected?
One response so far
I’ve been seeing the same thing recently, it *only just* tripped my brain’s spam alert… Looks very much like a pre-attack to me – I know that WordPress performs some kind of whitelisting of posters of comments that you’ve manually approved, and this may be an attempt to get on these whitelists and later post spam without it being flagged as such.